Microsoft EOL for Exams

New role-based certification and training is here, and we’re just getting started!

Updated 10/18/2018 to extend the retirement date of the AZ-xxx Transition Exams from March 31, 2019 to June 30, 2019

Whether you’re in your first IT job or you’re a seasoned professional, you’ve worked hard to get where you are. You take your role seriously, and so do we. So, at Ignite this week, we’re excited to announce our new role-based certifications to help you and your career keep pace with today’s business requirements. We’re evolving our program to better offer what you need to skill up, prove your expertise to employers and peers, and get the recognition—and opportunities—you’ve earned.

What does this new program look like?
To begin with, we’ve announced six new job roles: Azure AdministratorDeveloperSolutions Architect, and DevOps Engineer; and Microsoft 365 Modern Desktop Administrator and Enterprise Administrator. In fact, the exams (and associated training) for the Azure Administrator certification are now live, and the next two certifications—Azure Developer and Azure Solutions Architect—have exams in beta. If you’re attending Ignite, you can take the new exams for Azure Administrator, Developer, and Solutions Architect while you’re here. The other three role-based certifications on this list will be launched before the end of the year. And these are just the start! Stay tuned, because we plan to announce more role-based certifications in 2019.

What steps will you take?
First, you’ll choose a learning path based on your role (or the role you aspire to), prepare for the exams with a series of courses (including microlearning, online training, instructor-led training, books, and more). You can even take practice tests to build your confidence and to let you know where you need to focus. Then, when you’re ready to sit for the exam, plan to spend about three hours, including 30 minutes for the introduction, instructions, and comments. You can expect 40–60 questions, and, since your job is hands-on, the exams will be, too. Beyond multiple choice, they also contain active screen scenarios, drag-and-drop options, and even several case studies that address situations you would encounter in the real world. We’re also exploring more performance-based testing in our new role-based certification, beginning with the Azure Administrator certification. Performance-based testing gives you the opportunity to demonstrate your skills in ways that align with the way you actually work. (Watch for more information in future blog posts.) For more details, check out our exam policies.

What are transition exams?
Transition exams are intended for people who have already demonstrated skills in the content domain by passing 70-XXX series exam(s) that are being replaced by the new role-based certification exams. Transition exams cover the delta between the current certification and the skills and concepts in the new certification.

Transition exams cover net new content, content that wasn’t covered in enough depth, and content on aspects of the technology that have likely changed since the original exam. As a result, the transition exam is not shorter than a 70-XXX series exam but is more focused on the key tasks and skills that were not assessed in the 70-XXX series exam or certification that is being replaced.

Candidates who have passed these Azure exams Can take Azure Transition Exams To earn these Microsoft Certifications
70-532: Developing Microsoft Azure Solutions AZ-202: Microsoft Azure Developer Certification Transition Microsoft Certified: Azure Developer Associate
70-533: Implementing Microsoft Azure Infrastructure Solutions AZ-102: Microsoft Azure Administrator Certification Transition Microsoft Certified: Azure Administrator Associate
70-535: Architecting Microsoft Azure Solutions AZ-302: Microsoft Azure Solutions Architect Certification Transition Microsoft Certified: Azure Solutions Architect Expert

You can take a transition exam to prove your next-level skills for $99 in the United States. (Pricing is only available in US Dollars and varies by country.) More details about transition exams.

Passed your exams?
After you pass your exams, congratulations are in order! As is well-deserved recognition among your peers, colleagues, and employers. We’ll help you show up well, prove you are skilled and current in role tasks and multiple technologies, with the verified credentials you earn. Not only that, as you look for other opportunities in your industry, your badges—updated with a fresh new look—open links to job postings from employers looking for your proven skills. Plus, we’ll make it easy to keep up with the new tasks as the roles, platforms, and technologies grow and expand. The certification and training will be updated on a regular basis. So you can be confident that, whenever you start the process, you’ll be working with current roles.

Already working toward an MCSE: Cloud Platform & Infrastructure?
Through December 31, 2018, you can continue to work toward your MCSE: Cloud Platform & Infrastructure (and the associated MCSA certifications—MCSA Windows Server 2012MCSA Windows Server 2016MCSA Linux on Azure, and MCSA Cloud Platform). Effective January 1, 2019, your options will be to pursue the new MCSE: Core Infrastructure certification, which includes MCSA Windows Server 2012 and MCSA Windows Server 2016, or to pursue Azure job role certification via the new certifications announced in this blog post. If you have passed the required exams by January 1, you will automatically earn the MCSE: Core Infrastructure certification.